Mon, 25 Sep 2023

Thirty-two players nominated for 2022 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award

New England Patriots
23 Nov 2022, 19:34 GMT+10

The 32 player nominees for the eighth annual Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award have been finalized, the NFL announced today. NFL

The 32 player nominees for the eighth annual Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award have been finalized, the NFL announced today. Each NFL team nominated one of its players for the award, which recognizes players around the league who exemplify outstanding sportsmanship on the field.

Created in 2014, the award honors the late founding owner of the Pittsburgh Steelers and Pro Football Hall of Famer Art Rooney Sr.

A panel of former players from the NFL Legends Community -- Warrick Dunn, 2014 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award recipient Larry Fitzgerald, Pro Football Hall of Famer Curtis Martin and Leonard Wheeler -- will select eight finalists (four in the AFC and four in the NFC) from the 32 nominees. The eight finalists will be listed on the Pro Bowl ballot under the NFL Sportsmanship Award category when players vote in December.

"These Rooney Sportsmanship Award nominees exemplify the fiercest competition combined with the excellence of sportsmanship," said Troy Vincent, EVP of Football Operations of the NFL. "It reflects the very values of respect, resilience, and fairness that inspire both teammates and opponents to be the best in the world."

The award is presented each year to an NFL player who best demonstrates the qualities of on-field sportsmanship, including fair play, respect for the game and opponents, and integrity in competition.

2022 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Nominees

Arizona Cardinals: Budda BakerAtlanta Falcons: Grady JarrettBaltimore Ravens: Calais CampbellBuffalo Bills: Von MillerCarolina Panthers: Johnny HekkerChicago Bears: DeAndre Houston-CarsonCincinnati Bengals: B.J. HillCleveland Browns: Nick ChubbDallas Cowboys: Dak PrescottDenver Broncos: Pat Surtain IIDetroit Lions: Kalif RaymondGreen Bay Packers: Aaron JonesHouston Texans: Jerry HughesIndianapolis Colts: DeForest BucknerJacksonville Jaguars: Christian KirkKansas City Chiefs: Nick BoltonLas Vegas Raiders: Maxx CrosbyLos Angeles Chargers: Austin EkelerLos Angeles Rams: Cooper KuppMiami Dolphins: Alec IngoldMinnesota Vikings: Dalvin CookNew England Patriots: David AndrewsNew Orleans Saints: Ryan RamczykNew York Giants: Daniel JonesNew York Jets: Duane BrownPhiladelphia Eagles: Lane JohnsonPittsburgh Steelers: Alex HighsmithSan Francisco 49ers: Kyle JuszczykSeattle Seahawks: Will DisslyTampa Bay Buccaneers: Lavonte DavidTennessee Titans: Derrick HenryWashington Commanders: Terry McLaurin

The winner of the Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award is determined by a vote of current NFL players. From the eight finalists, each team's players will submit a consensus vote of their choice for the winner. As in Pro Bowl voting, a team cannot vote for its own player.

The winner will be announced as part of NFL Honors. He will receive a $25,000 donation from the NFL Foundation to a charity of his choice.

Previous Recipients of the Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award

2021: WR Matthew Slater - New England Patriots2020: QB Teddy Bridgewater - Carolina Panthers2019: RB Adrian Peterson - Washington Commanders2018: QB Drew Brees - New Orleans Saints2017: LB Luke Kuechly - Carolina Panthers2016: RB Frank Gore - Indianapolis Colts2015: CB Charles Woodson - Oakland Raiders2014: WR Larry Fitzgerald - Arizona Cardinals

Sign up for Pittsburgh News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!